Rotary Police Officer of the Year Awards

The Finalists.

THE Rotary Clubs of Penrith, Penrith Valley, Nepean and St Marys gathered at the St Marys Band Club on Wednesday 7th June to celebrate the 2022 Police Officer of the Year (POOTY) awards.

The Finalists included Leading Senior Constable Kylie Brian, Leading Senior Constable Wes Kennedy, Detective Elise Cause, Detective Kyel McGarry, Constable Zoe Bevan, Constable Katie Edwards, Constable Madeline Ireland, Constable Tim Mascherin, Constable Kelsey Sherman, Constable Ryan Napper, Sgt Ben Gillen and Constable Tom Verheist.

Speakers on the night included Penrith City Mayor Tricia Hitchen, Nepean LAC Superintendent Trent King, Rotary District Governor 9685 Mina Howard, Rotary District Governor 9999 Janice Hall, Phil Martin (President St Marys Rotary and Chair POOTY committee), Gary Raymond APM OAM and Martha Jabour OAM (Grace’s Place).

The winners on the night were Vocational Excellence (Constable Ryan Napper), Leadership (Sgt Ben Gillen) and Police Officer of the Year (Leading Senior Constable Kylie Brian).

A donation of $15,000 was made to Police Legacy from sponsorships and raffle sales, and $2,000 donated to Grace’s Place from Penrith, Nepean and St Marys Rotary clubs.